Residential Zones

The District Plan currently has Residential zones in the townships of Ōamaru, Palmerston, Kurow, Otematata, Omarama and Ohau Village.


Commercial and Mixed Use Zones

Commercial zoned areas provide a diverse range of activities and services for the community which support both residents and visitors.


0pen Space and Recreational Zones

New Open Space Zone statements, including Conservation Zone, Open Space and Sport and Active Recreation Zone

Hampden Beach Playground .jpg

Rural Zones

National Planning Standards require us to use new descriptions of rural areas in the new District Plan.

Waitaki Valley - Scott Milne (2).jpg

Most of the district’s industrial land is located in Ōamaru’s north-end, in Weaver Street Ōamaru and at Pukeuri (north of Ōamaru). There is also a small industrial zone in the north-west corner of the Palmerston township.


get updates by email

Waitaki District Council Logo

© 2021 Waitaki District Council | All rights reserved